Friday Foto

By drmackem

Leaves to Heal

I noticed on my FB feed this morning an invitation for a "photo walk of hope" along the river this afternoon. I don't know about you but I've been struggling to know how to be after the Brexit vote and the shenanigans of the government and opposition party since then, and the ongoing harsh conversation and behaviour by some in the private and public space.

I find myself struggling to speak well into this space, hearing as I try to articulate, my own shrill voice, I and many of us I think need to listen deeply to what is behind the discourse out there and within ourselves before we speak.

So off I toddled and joined a few strangers mainly for a gentle walk, where I nearly forgot to take a photo, but found despite the conversation not being curated, the title of the invitation facilitating some open and honest and yes, hopeful talk about the mess we find ourselves in.

I read a verse in Church this morning that went something like, "There is a river, and by the river is a tree(s) and the leaves of the tree(s) are for the healing of the nations."


On our walk this afternoon by the river, the trees in full leaf I pondered about what it might take to heal the hurts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.