Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

# 44 - Eastern Wood Pewee

I hope to be back shortly to provide a positive ID for this little flycatcher.  I initially thought it was an Eastern Wood Pewee, a small flycatcher of the woods and one I've heard calling in recent weeks.  However, the eye doesn't look right for a pewee and I'm thinking it may be one of the empidonax flycatchers.  I'm waiting for a couple of friends who are experts to weigh in on this.  The jury is in and my first instinct was correct - this is an Eastern Wood Pewee (Contopus virens ).  Makes the most sense given my location at the edge of acres of woods.  And while this one didn't vocalize, I've been hearing a pewee for the last week or so around the edge of the woods.  So,, mystery solved and Yard Bird # 44 in the books.  

We had a great time with our friends yesterday - arrived mid-afternoon and had a nice visit before they served us a grilled meal fit for a king (ribs, sausage and peppers, corn, salad and a to-die-for almond tort for dessert).  And, as an added bonus, their community fireworks display was last night - and we had ring-side seats from their deck overlooking the lake!  This was my first time trying to photograph fireworks (luckily a threw a tripod in the car before we left) - I would say that I have a lot of room for improvement, but I'm also happy with my results all things considered.  I posted four shots on Flickr starting HERE, with a boom!  I set the camera at ISO 100 and adjusted the shutter between 1 and 3 seconds and aperture between f/11-13.  No remote trigger, so some camera shake from the shutter (and from people walking around on the deck.)  Lots of fun, though.  

We had a leisurely breakfast with our friends this morning then started home, arriving back here mid-afternoon.  

Having warned you the my hummingbird obsession has officially started, I am posting a hummer in Extra.  This one is a female - you can tell because her feathers are a bit beat up, the result of having just finished raising her babies with their sharp pointy beaks.  Lots of hummers around the feeders now, and I'm increasing production of sugar water...

Thank you so very much for the many comments and bling on my irritated woodpecker!

Cheers,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.