The Swastika Stone

I spent several hours enjoying the view from various rocks high on Ilkley Moor this morning as our tired D of E youngsters made several navigational errors on their way to me.  Blipping the famous Swastika Stone on the edge of the moor is challenging as it is fenced off from Joe Public and lies on a slant.  I had to get down on the ground and push the camera between the bars to try and capture some of the lovely Wharfedale landscape in the background.

Ilkley Moor has a fair sprinkling of Bronze/Iron Age cup and ring markings on its stones and there is much speculation about the age of this one.  Actually the one in my blip is a Victorian copy of the original Swastika Stone which is further out on the rock and very faded now.  It is thought that the 'swastika' was a symbol relating to the sun.  I certainly had lots of that up there today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.