2000 Perforations?

Note to self. Do not skim-read Twitter posts.

I read of Common St John's Wort posted by wildlife expert Ian Beavis. He calls it Perforate St John's Wort. I have plenty of this and always scour it for bugs. I wasn't looking for bugs today though, I wanted to see the perforations. The only reason a thick-thighed flower beetle got a look in was because I thought I'd found them. The edges of the petals look just like where a postage stamp has been torn along the perforations.

I read Ian's post again. It's not the flowers but the leaves that are perforated. As you can see they have lots of transparent dots that are groups of oil producing cells.

The common name "St John's wort" comes from its traditional flowering and harvesting on St John's Day, 24 June. The genus name Hypericum is derived from the Greek words hyper (above) and eikon (picture), in reference to the tradition of hanging plants over religious icons in the home during St John's Day, to ward off evil. Extract of Hypericum is an effective treatment for light to medium depression and helps wounds to heal. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.