Plus ça change...

By SooB

Blue

A busy day (it's the holidays now, so I'm definitely going to stop saying that).

Cool weather today was very well timed for the second of the twice annual truffle pushes.  Tempering chocolate when your house is hotter than the maximum temperature allowed is hard... Today was just about doable.  And so, dark, milk and white chocolate was tempered and wrapped around some experimental centres.  And my temper remained level throughout (which is a first...)

TallGirl had a pal over, which I'd forgotten about somehow, so the day had to have a proper lunch scheduled into it, rather than the usual lunch where everyone just forages for what they fancy.  Later, an emergency dash for more white chocolate and an unexpected meeting with the Head (after some probably good news on a debt owed to the school, which means I've adequately handled my first French litigation, phew) delayed me somewhat, but I was still on track.  A neighbour arriving when I was pretty much literally covered in the aforementioned white chocolate to beg translation assistance for a non-French but yes-English speaking Finnish potential purchaser of her house was a much longer distraction than I expected (this is the neighbour who wasn't speaking to me a few weeks ago) but interesting nonetheless.  

But with the help of TallGirl and friend, all the truffles were packaged up neatly and I picked up the flowers that were a gift for the Head from all the kids leaving the school this year, and we made it to school in time to present all of the above.

Later, a long leisurely bbq and much chat.  And, as is increasingly the case these days, the kids amaze me with their knowledge, wit and irritating recollection of past misdemeanours (mine).  TallGirl's instinctual loathing of any music we like, I can do without.  Though in a big step, she has conceded that early Taylor Swift is quite country.  And she quite likes it. Any day now I'll have her singing along to the Eagles...

Oh, the photo is a big blue bee on some sweet peas.  Just to state the obvious like a teenager I know might.

(See how I haven't weeped and wailed about my baby boy leaving primary school?  Expect that any day now when it sinks in.  Turns out my 'sinking in' capacity is still all used up with Brexit.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.