Snaizeholme Red Squirrel

I’ve wanted to see a red squirrel in the UK for years and years. The only red squirrels I’ve ever seen were in France near La Rochelle.  We even visited Brownsea Island (famed for the little auburn blighters) a few years ago, but the only siting of a red squirrel there was one of the posters.
We had heard about the Snaizeholme Red Squirrel Trail in the Yorkshire Dales so decided to try our luck there. Getting there was an adventure in itself as we had no wifi with which to Google it.
However, we intrepid explorers set off with our hopes high. When we parked the car it was just starting to rain – again. We walked for about a mile or so and then came to the start of the trail. Another mile and a half through the forest along lovely tracks, and I was getting very excited as I kept spotting chewed pine cones., and with my Miss Marple hat on that meant one thing – red squirrels.
Then – there they were!!  Several of them were playing and running about on the trees and branches. Absolutely beautiful and well worth the wait (and the midge bites which I'm still scratching two days later).
I'm still playing catch-up Blip. This is from Monday, and I'm posting it on Wednesday. Please have a look at my last few blips if you'd like to see where we've been in the Yorkshire Dales. I'm now off to work.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.