Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Finally - a case for some of my trains

I ordered this case months ago and it was worth the wait. A company, Greenway Products (http://greenwayproducts.com/) made it for me. Each shelf is scribed with slots to equal my Sn3 track. This way I can put my locomotives, geese, and cars in the case and they sit correctly and safely. The doors are sliding glass so dust is kept to a minim. I have seen many train cases and this is the best. They also make cases for all the popular scales (N,HO,O,S,etc)

So while I am doing scenery everything is in the case. I have many more cars that need weathering and will not fit right now. But once the messy stuff is done on the layout, I will always have a couple of locomotives and a goose on the railroad, along with many cars. At that point the case will serve as sort of a vertical switch yard. I will take locomotives and cars off the layout and put them in the case, replacing them with other rolling stock. Sort of a virtual city - Durango in my modeled world.

OK - on to more grass. Almost done with the base layer and got some white residue from the new dilute matte medium I use for glue. Will have to redo a small portion. In researching this on the net I find that once I mix the matte medium with water (I use 1 part matte medium to 5 or 6 parts water, plus a couple of drops of dish detergent) I need to let it sit for a week to allow the solids to settle out. Seems they put clay or talc in the matte medium and if it does not fully penetrate the scenery it sits on the top and is white. Not good. At least it is not the whole layout!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.