such, such were the joys.

By Chaps100

Thorpe Park

Today we went to Thorpe park. And as usual it was great fun.

We managed to get on Derren Brown's Ghost Train, which is only open for technical rehearsals at the moment. I have to say though that I was very disappointed with it. I understand that it uses the latest in VR technology, but considering that you can buy your own VR headsets now, it really was a bit naff. The graphics weren't amazing, and the theming kept changing throughout the ride. It's based around a derelict Victorian train station, but the interior of the train is a modern Underground tube car. And the ghosts aren't ghosts, they're alien-demon-hybrid things that just 'throw' things at you whilst the carriage rocks a bit and the actors grab your legs. Halfway through the ride, you have to evacuate the carriage so that the actors can lead you around to a holding area, only to put you back on the same train. I mean, I understand that they were only technical rehearsals, but surely the actual experience can't be much changed. All in all, a bit underwhelming. I find it hard to believe that Derren Brown had much artistic licence in this.

Anyway, we got back early enough to play a board game and eat some pizza for dinner. And then we watched Taskmaster (which I love) and I caught up on the Sewing Bee final. So, all in all, a lovely day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.