One Good Turn

One good turn deserves another. In exchange for leaving the Dower House at the untimely hour of 8:45 to accompany His Lordship on a purchasing errand to Bruntsfield, he was expected to hold my skein of wool while I wound it into a ball. Having the human element makes it so much easier than doing it round the back of a chair.

For six years we have been locked in disagreement as how best to screen three windows in three rooms. His Lordship was convinced that the world could not only see into the rooms but were actively doing so and he felt vulnerable and exposed.

There are blinds in place for the hours of darkness, but what to do during the day was the problem. Dreaded net curtains were considered, but since we could not agree on their positioning -close to the window or hung outside the deep recess- they never materialised. However I finally relented and with the measurements HL gave me I ordered them last Sunday. They arrived yesterday and found to be too short. The question is - who is to blame? Me for ordering them or HL for providing me with the measurements? I know HL's view.

I have remeasured and reordered and so if the replacements are the wrong length there is only one person to blame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.