Day 19- Talk to the Animals

Well the dog days of summer appeared to have deserted us today. It was wet this morning but the rain did hold off long enough for me to walk a circuit round by the Ness and come home dry. I followed the ferry out of town and watched it until it was a speck on the sea before it disappeared round Hoy.
The only living things I encountered were cows and curlews, the former silent and curious, the latter vociferous and warning as I walked through their territory.

Fortunately the rain stopped before we arrived at the Orphir Kirk coffee morning where we had been advised that today's baker was none other than the current Mrs Creel. I have to say, her coffee cake was to die for even if HL got the slice without the nuts on top.

By the time HL dropped me in Kirkwall for my lunch with blipper Poppy, it was bright and warm and I felt rather overdressed as I dodged through some of the 1800 passengers from today's cruise ship berthed at the harbour. Poppy and I spent 2 hours happily chitchatting. I wish we lived a bit nearer each other in real life.

Tonight as our Orkney finale , His Lordship and I have a romantic dinner à deux in the Hamnavoe, the Michelin 2017 commended restaurant in Stromness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.