Day 18-The Dog Days of Summer- Orkney Style

The dog days of summer have arrived up here in Orkney just as His Lordship and I are contemplating our departure at the weekend.
It was glorious to get out of bed this morning, wakened by the throbbing engines of the ferry turning mid channel on its way to Scrabster and look on a view of blue sea and fluffy white clouds in an azure sky.

My pre-breakfast walk took me through the deserted town to the other side of Hamnavoe and the fairly new Copeland's Dock where I might have waved to His Lordship across the water had he been looking.
The Hoy hills were looking splendid in the sunshine with just a lone cloud sitting atop.

Later we made the most of the sunshine and warmth to drive to Waukmill beach in Orphir and sit on the rocks watching a lone family picnic on an expanse of sand that would be the envy of any crowded beach in the south of England or the continent.
I have included the view as my first extra image.
The second extra is of the little sail boats that were out on another evening when the water was as calm as a millpond.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.