Brown-lipped snail (Cepaea nemoralis)

Found this little snail crawling up Ross's wall while gossiping  chatting with him this morning. It is quite small as you can see  -  a fully grown one could be between 20 and 25 mm in length. Believe me he is not sitting on my hand by my choice, but it was a bit damp outside and I didn't want to get the camera wet, so I brought him indoors. The only way I could get the lighting right was to put him ion my hand and move about so I got the best lighting.  Bit of a strain holding the heavy camera in my oher hand but no casualties either to human or camera.  I've cut out the image and put it on a white background which hat you get here.  Brown-lipped snails are neither male nor female, each snail has the organs of both sexes, they are hermaphrodites. You can read all about them by clicking HERE!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.