CanCarrier

By CanCarrier

Central Park.

Today was the Natural History Museum. 

I have a thing for the Aztecs, Mayan and other pre-columbian South American cultures. Last time I was here I went looking for the US version of the British Museum's South America's room. I went to the Metropolitan Museum and was very disappointed as although they have a very high quality exhibit it consists mostly of funeral gold. 

That is because all the REAL stuff is in the Natural History Museum. 

After learning about the Cosmos and seeing Lucy, and the Star of India I was about to set off to enjoy the Dinos when I found the South American gallery. Wow what a delight. Cases of pottery and jade and information on their culture and religion and warfare. Brilliant. 

You can spend all day in the Natural History Museum but I eventually tore myself away to meet up with C and get dressed up to meet with friends. 

'Do you have Turkish restaurants in Edinburgh?' I was asked. I was very polite when I replied that having been on the receiving end of every wave of emigration since the Ice Age we have restaurants representing almost every European culture. 

On the way home we stopped off in C's local pub Bloom's. They did not have my favourite tipple, but the barman soon found me something suitable. Despite the exchange rate, and city centre mark ups etc etc I think this was the only occasion I actually winced at the price. 


We had to have a second because it was raining and we didn't have jackets. Pity that. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.