happyhound

By happyhound

Cake Make

Oh man, these did not turn out how I'd hoped!

Firstly, it's 'RobinHood' day at school tomorrow. I won't bore you with why, but it's a fundraising effort. 'Wear Robin Hood fancy dress and bake Robin Hood themed cakes.' Honestly. We do not have Robin Hood fancy dress. Nor are we going to make any.

Secondly, don't ask why my theme became owls. (Yes, they're owls.) I rang Mr HH. 'Bring Oreos and M&M's.' He bought peanut M&M's. This was not the brief. He went back to the co-op. They had no normal M&M's. Or Smarties. He came back with: one packet of marshmallows, one packet of haribo, one packet of fruit pastilles and two packets of white chocolate buttons. Sigh.

Thirdly, I'd made my buns too small for the idea, fourthly the frosting was meant to be ganache not buttercream, fifthly I broke some Oreos meaning I didn't have enough, sixthly I was bloody exhausted what with my back and The Baby and after school gymnastics and spaghetti bolognaise on the hob at the same time and Hound nagging for his dinner and emergency internet shopping occurring there and then due to Eldest Child's entire wardrobe only containing sportswear and an impending trip to the West End next week requiring 'normal' clothes that he is adverse to wearing...

Seventhly the football was on and all I wanted to do was sit down with a nice beer and watch it.

So here they are. If anyone knocks their giant owl eyes off I'll.... I'll...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.