Waratah Bud

Wombat Hollow is blessed in many ways, but none more than from the fact that we have dozens and dozens of Waratah bushes on our property.

In 2004 after the fire of 2002, we had the most amazing phenomena occur.  The Waratahs just went crazy and we had hundreds of blooms that year.  For a couple of years after that they were spectacular, but nothing quite like the year of 2004.

It's been raining all day today and sadly golf was not an option.  As much as I love it, it wasn't going to be any fun at all to play 18 holes in freezing cold weather AND rain!!  So once again, it was out with the macro lens and as soon as I walked out the door and spotted the waratah bud dripping in drops, that was going to be my blip for today.

I will take progressive shots of this bud so that you can follow the amazing life of a Waratah bloom.  It is quite astonishing to think that it's now early July and this bud started forming in March.  It will reach it's glorious best at the end of October, so watch this space.

No extension tubes today, just the trusty Tamron 90mm macro lens on my Sony ILCE6000 camera!
EDIT:  CCN just told me I had to tell you it was "Hand Held" :-))))  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.