horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Poseur

It was one of THOSE Monday mornings. I didn't really want to go in after the boss-induced crappy end to the week on Friday, and his PA backed up the malaise when I walked in at 5 minutes past 9.

"Good afternoon," she chirps. This is pretty standard. The boss wanders in any time after 10 (though stays till at least 7 most nights), all last week she was in no earlier than 9.10 due to 'traffic' (she NEVER sleeps in don't you know) and for the last month I've been making a point of being at my desk before 9. Anyway, I decide to let it slide and explain that when I'm not on the bike, as I wasn't this morning, I don't really have a clue about timings.

"You don't have a clue about anything," and so the tone was set for the morning, I just got the head down and had a few things out of the door before lunch. Then comes the inevitable chase for things that aren't really my job. But I'm not too worried about being asked to take some staff photos for a who's who of the company. It's funny how my bikes or camera can be a 'distraction' most of the time, but occasionally useful and in demand (usually when it means the company doesn't have to pay a third party).

So a few test shots with Alan, the IT manager, and fellow Geordie. We lapsed from serious headshots into catalogue poses quite quickly. Noisy image, but I was trying a high-ISO non-flash shot. However, because I'll be getting photos from other offices to manipulate I'll likely have to go back to bog-standard flash-lit on the white background.

Shame really.

Tonight the chicken run building begins after a quick trip to B&Q. Something else I enjoy, which allows me to take my mind off the day-to-day stuff. And I'll just make sure I'm on the bike tomorrow and in at my usual time. "Afternoon," I'll say, "Sleep in?"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.