Life in Canada

By MissMacPic

Heron Heron

Every week, I set a photographic goal for myself.  It is usually just a private goal that I keep to myself for self-satisfaction if I do it/get it.

This week with my father here, I told him that my goal was to get a good image of a Great Blue Heron.  A crisp, totally in focus image... We had quite a few laughs this week at all the herons I saw flying overhead!!  This morning was the most insane moment.... As my folks were getting into the car and we were waving goodbye, I saw a familiar shadow fly over my head.  Would you believe that a heron landed on my neighbour's chimney?!?!  I ran back into the house and grabbed my camera.............no battery, it was being charged.  AARRRGGHHHHH!!!  It was that kind of moment.  Funny really...

This evening I went out for a walk to an area I know that I am bound to see at least one heron.  It was in the mid 30's with high humidity so not much else was flying around.  When I arrived at the marsh, there were two herons close to shore (for the first time ever!) and they quickly flew off a bit.  They are featured in my photo with one other, but in total I counted 10 GBH's.  Quite astonishing....and the perfect ending to the week with having my parents here for a visit.

I hope you are all having a wonderful week.  Friday tomorrow....weekend is almost here : )

D

"Let me tell you the secret that has led to my goal. My strength lies solely in my tenacity."
~ Louis Pasteur

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.