Today's Special

By Connections

"What's All the Fuss About?"

I've buzzed this silly-looking house for days now, while those bigger birds are lodged inside, stuffing their faces-- and it's a miracle that those enormous squirrels, particularly this one, ever manage to get out once they've eaten their fill!

The phlegmatic woodpeckers just ignore me when I zip right up to them on the high feeder, even when I stop in mid-air and stare fiercely at them!
Maybe they all need eyeglasses, since they can't seem to see me. Or maybe they just think I'm a big bug... well, no matter what their problem is, I feel sorry for them if this suet and seed stuff is all they get to eat! Nectar is SO much more delicious!

(Anna's hummingbirds are 3.9 to 4.3 inches (9.9 to 10.9 cm) in length. This one is a female. The hummingbird feeder is on our front porch, but perhaps we should move it to the deck in back... I've never seen a hummer perch on a suet and seed feeder before!)

Blip 1584

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.