Bramham Scarecrow

Our granddaughter had a good night (again) - 13 hours sleep, waking just after seven a.m. 

We had to be out just after nine, as I had an appointment for an eye screening - and unfortunately the procedure meant I was unable to drive afterwards. So I was chauffeured around for a change.

After the test we arranged to meet up with our daughter for a coffee and a snack! Whilst we were out Jessica kept asking to see 'piggies' - which is something we do often when she comes to stay.  So we managed to find a farm which was open to the public with a play area and cafe!

We did see some 'piggies' which Jessica enjoyed - but the condition of the animals was horrible and the cafe and play area were pretty disgusting so we didn't stay long and eventually came back home.

The blip photo was taken later (when I could see again) and is of one of the 'scarecrows' around the village. These are left overs from the Scarecrow Trail event which took place last Sunday and the theme this year was 'Olympics'. This scarecrow has a 'Munich 1972' logo - and on the back has the name Brian Jacks. Google (other search engines are available) tells me he won bronze in the 1972 games.

I don't know what relevance (if any) there is to our village, but sadly I expect his achievements were overshadowed by the terrible events at those games.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.