Springfield

Knowing that I would be traveling through Springfield today, where I lived for 6 years back in my younger days (well I left about 15 years ago so maybe not all that much younger), I had all sorts of ideas of what I'd stop and photograph. Of course I wasn't taking into account that it would be virtually dark when I got to the area!

This is the donut that was erected for some "The Simpsons" event (maybe the release of the movie?). I believe they erected one in every Springfield worldwide - and there are a lot of Springfields!

This donut has quite a history. It was originally erected on the outskirts of the village but was removed at some point. There was quite a dispute in the village as to whether it should be kept or not. When it was put up again someone set fire to it in protest. Eventually it was repaired and erected on a new site in the centre of the village.

This all happened long after I left the area but the donut, probably because of the dispute, has really come to signify Springfield for me now.

I stopped in the village for a quick visit to a friend, but was starting to regret it when I faced driving through rapidly falling and settling snow on Porters Pass. Still, I got here to Brunner safely and am looking forward to some great photo opportunities tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.