Plus ça change...

By SooB

Nigel(la)

Hottest day yet - definitely one to spend cowering in the house.  The thermometer recorded 33/34C but each tentative trip outside was like stepping into an oven.  So, not so much work in the garden, after 10 minutes of light weeding in the shade proved a little too much.

Trip into school this morning to pick up some documents, and - turns out - to have a long chat with the Head about some changes that are coming. Then into town for football stickers for CarbBoy, bank action for me and some food.  The heat must be affecting my brain: I forgot to buy bread.

Lots of adding and hard email (French) writing in the afternoon (though helpfully I now have two helpers as CarbBoy's grammar has improved so much this year) and, all too soon, it was time to relax with a beer in front of the end of the Tour stage, before dinner, Grange Hill, and now Die Hard.  

I should note that for the first time a red poppy I sowed has produced a flower!  I don't know why I've had such difficulty before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.