GracieG

By GracieG

Fresh White Linen

A warm day...spent painting the skirting boards and door frames sadly. But my reward was a cool, wonderfully scented shower and then feeling refreshed slipping into my crisp white summer dressing gown...heaven!

White Linen Heaven
A warm sunny day of youth
Memories of white linen sheets
Hanging on the line to dry
The air filled with fragrance oh so sweet
The edge of each sheet decorated
with grandma and mothers loving hands
Crafted embroidery of brilliant flowers
Even a few monograms
After they dried in the summer sun
Mother takes them in to iron there
A sprinkle of water and starch
Then pressed with loving care
My job was to help make the beds
Mother snaps the sheets out
I help make the corners match
Tuck the corners in so they won't fall out
When all is done a long wait for evening
I couldn't wait to crawl in
Between those crisp cool sheets
Of white linen heaven

 

JoJo Bean

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.