Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Duckling, Chasewater

Had a walk at Chasewater after dinner, watching people wakeboard and water ski in the late evening sun.

As I was walking along I noticed a group of 9 ducklings huddled up together just on the path.  As I always try to do, I got a shot taken first, before trying to get closer.  I've got used to wildlife scurrying away when I get too close.  I had the 300mm (600mm equivalent on a full frame) lens on the camera.  Anyway, I got a bit closer, took another shot, closer again, still they stayed resolutely in their spot.  In the end I had to back off as I'd got closer than the lens's shortest focusing distance (1.2 metres)!

This is full frame, no cropping and you might even see my reflection in the eye of the duckling.  I don't think I have ever got so close.  I just hope they know when to run, if needed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.