Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Menus

Aren't they just fascinating?!

Ventured out in the relative cool of the day (it's still pretty hot at 5pm) and ended up with some time to kill at Milk & Honey Cafe in Mercato. This is part of the menu... the prices are remarkably reasonable for this Mall and the size of the Cafe, but what really caught my eye was the "Specific Drinks". What is a specific drink please? G was going to find out, especially as Hepburn was in the name, but she was told that none of them were available today. They cost a mere £3 each, so I guess it is something to discover on another visit. The service was so slow, it may not happen very soon.

Had to go to the landlord's agent to pay the rent after this. I was extremely apprehensive. He keeps wanting to raise the rent - typically by 10%. Last year I managed to wriggle out of it because the law says he should give me three months notice in writing which he hadn't. I was anticipating receiving a letter on 1st April but nothing came (I wasn't here anyway). So, after he had a prolonged discussed in Arabic with his father about how much he should raise the rent this time and announced the new figure to me, I reminded him he hadn't notified me in writing. G speaks Arabic, and he apparently said to his father, "I keep forgetting to do that!"

Anyway, I suggested he give me a contract to the end of the year on the current rent; and then he can present me with a new contract that runs through the calendar year - at the new rent he wants to charge. He thought that was a good idea!

Back to normal work hours from tomorrow. :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.