Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Extended family

Blipped on 20/7/17.

AT LAST. A day off! We had talked about getting to a service today, and a quick Google search revealed two possibilities, both churches in almost the same area. One started at 10am, the other at 10:30. Guess which one we opted for?  :D

Made it just in time. The International Evangelical Church is well located and we were lucky to get parked right outside. The service was just beginning as we entered, so we had to sit in the front row!!

A small but very friendly multi-lingual congregation; they stopped for lunch - which they all eat together, before having their communion service! (The Minister made us aware that this year marks 500 years of the Reformation; something I want to look into more closely when I get to the UK.) We met and chatted with a British family who are holidaying there for two weeks. Lovely to meet them and hours passed in no time.

I have taken pictures of some gorgeous stained glass windows which I hope to include here as an extra, but for some reason, my phone and laptop are not communicating well with each other! My blip is of the musician. I loved the simplicity of the worship music. Just the piano... It was beautiful.

We got home for a bit of a rest and catch up before heading out again, this time to meet up with friends Chas and Judy whom we met in 2015; they now help us by calling into our flat once a month and make sure everything is OK. They chose a seafood restaurant on the sea front. It was lovely and the best thing about it is that we saw the same moon rise that SweetArt mentioned in her blip of the same day. There you go... thousands of miles apart, and we saw the same thing.

Chas and Judy treated us to our meal. :D

Update: I managed to get the stained glass window pics off my phone and have posted an extra... A few of Jesus's "I am" sayings in pictures... those who are familiar with the sayings will decipher them. I think they are gorgeous!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.