Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Platres

Blipped on 20/7/17.

Today should have been a day off, so we did some more sourcing of things for ourselves namely a dinner set. G & I can't agree on any that we've seen, so we hope M&S might deliver. They have a tiny home section with some lovely things, but a bit too pricey for a flat we will hardly ever be in.

Called into the luggage shop who replace damaged cases for several airlines including Emirates. I have been given 80euros towards a new case, and very happy with a very stylish black American Tourister which was on offer! :)

Had to call into a couple of other places too (including Jumbo) for us and our clients, and then FINALLY, there was time to check out the new Lidl's that has opened in Kiti... which also means, it was the first grocery shop since I've been here.  :(  It was good to get some washing machine detergent so I can try out the new machine. Such things make me so happy!

We had enough time to put the shopping away and have a rest before getting back into the car and heading to Platres to meet up with friends Rozalia and her sister Irina (in my blip). It was super to catch up with them and eat at this restaurant... a favourite since the days of SweetArt living here in the 90's. We ordered the meze and it was fabulous as ever. Very cool too... the temperature dropped to less than 20degC when the sun went down. SO welcome after the heat of the day.

The hire car though struggled to get up the mountain. I don't know what we've been given... it really looks like a bit of a wreck but the a/c works well and it is efficient with fuel, so as long as it lasts till we hand it back, I'll be happy. I did wonder at one point, if I may have to use the 24 hour hotline to get some assistance.

SO glad we got to Platres today. The first leisurely thing I have done since arriving. We got home really late though - well past 1am. Tomorrow is definitely a day off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.