Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Sibling Rivalry

Truthfully, I don't know if these two juveniles are siblings or not, but it made for a good title, didn't it?  This is not the crispest of shots as the birds were moving way too quickly but I like the action and drama of it.  And it accurately depicts the way things are looking in our yard at the moment - hummer wars are in full swing.  

It is a dreary, overcast and cool day so I cranked up the ISO, put on long pants and a long sleeved shirt and stayed close to home.  I actually kind of like days like this as the birds are much more active than when it's hot and I'm also not contending with bright sunlight for shooting.  

Didn't open the bluebird box today as I suspect Madame may be brooding the babies to keep them warm.  Plenty of time to check tomorrow.  The dish of mealworms I put out front for them earlier was dispatched with quickly, so I've just refilled it.  The babies are too small to eat mealies right now, but it gives the parents good protein and an easy meal.  

I posted three other pics on Flickr - a piggy blue jay, a young male hummer, and a silly Carolina wren, starting HERE.

Hubs is up at Watkins Glen, NY racing today and tomorrow - he needed a break and will hopefully have a great weekend of racing.  As for me, I'm heading into NYC tomorrow to celebrate my friend, Kura's, birthday!  That means an early blip tomorrow as I'm not planning to take a camera with me (going cold turkey - yikes).  Doesn't mean I won't snap a few iPhone shots...

Thanks for the kind words yesterday.  I look at the world around me sometimes and feel so frustrated that I can't just fix everything.  But, I suppose all any of us can do is try to be kind to each other, respect the differences that make us all special, and try to find beauty in the things around us.  Those of us who are photographers may have an edge on that last one!

Ciao,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.