King George V post box

I was on a six mile walk this morning with the local walking group. We started in Exton and wandered across fields of pasture and maturing barley to arrive at Woodbury.  Here we visited the local church St Swithun’s where the decoration on several crosses caught my eye, see extra.  

We then wandered back along small country lanes crossing a main road near Ebford where this unused old King George V letter (or rather wall) box still stands.

Once home I saw on the computer that Revd Dr William Keble Martin, a famous botanist, who spent his last days in Woodbury, and died, in 1969 is buried in the churchyard.  The kneelers in the church here are embroided with wild flowers from his famous book “Concise British Flora in Colour”, and there is a special edition of this book in a showcase in the Church.  As I studied botany at degree level and can remember the book I think I will return to see it.  I also wondered if the cross in extras is in his memory.  There wasn't time to stop and look at the front as I only spotted it as the others in the group were walking off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.