You put your right arm in -

you put your left arm ..............................

I went to a football match this afternoon.  The Pavel Cup.  A charity match in memory of Pavel Srníček the former Newcastle United goalkeeper who died last year of a heart attack at the age of 47.  One team was made up of former Newcastle players and the opposition were a mix of local celebs and media. The referee was Barry Sweeney whose son Liam - an avid Newcastle supporter died in the MH17 air crash of 2014.

The venue was in Dunston - two buses there and two back.  Kick off was 1.30pm.  The weather was warm and dry and there was a large crowd.  Some of the players were well past their best - you can see ex Newcastle player Olivier Bernard in my extras.( I think it would have been better if he had been given a larger sized kit ) But everyone gave their all.  The score was - well no-one knows really.  It may have been Newcastle 13 - the opposition 9.  But the announcer at the end deemed it a draw with the score 10 - 10.  A fair result for a charity match where the score didn't really matter. I took loads of photos and was merrily uploading them to Flickr when Flickr suddenly stopped working.  I did manage to get THIS ONE on - a man in the crowd wearing his " Pavel is a Geordie " T Shirt.  Pavel always wore a T Shirt like this under his goalie shirt when he played for Newcastle.  My main blip shot is of Peruvian Nobby Solano.

I changed buses at The Metrocentre on my way home from the match and popped into M & S for a bit of shopping.  Got home just after the Murray match had finished.  Well done to him for winning the trophy.  Shame I missed it but I wanted to support St Oswalds Hospice who were benefiting from the charity football match.

Neil had a day off today and he stayed here just watching sport on TV.  He was flicking between Formula One, The Tour De France and the tennis.  This evening he went to the pub to watch the Euro 16 final.  I watched it at home.  It went to extra time - hence the late blip.  Well done to Portugal who came out as winners by a single goal. 

Steps today 8,790

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.