Made me smile

My third year doctoral studies student from Birmingham University is leaving as her year long work placement has come to an end and she is going off to work in the big smoke after the holidays. I will miss her, she's been a breath of fresh air. I have supervised several doctoral students before but only from Bristol or Exeter universities and only in their first or second year (which is a slightly different job).


I have yet to write her a card but she wrote in mine that I was "the perfect supervisor" which was lovely as I wasn't sure whether I'd done a good job. As she has a job now she doesn't need me for advice or references but I hope she keeps in touch.

Inside the card is a voucher for me to use against a music concert ticket!
Really touched and I think it links back to a conversation we had about how important it is to make time in our busy lives to see live music.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.