The Rocky Road to Ruin

I started the day by doing a little tidying in the garden (in my pyjamas!).  I'd gone through to the garage to bag up the recycling for collection, and - as always happens - got sidetracked by the sight of things that needed doing...

My cousin Julia arrived to visit us after lunch, and she came out with Mum and me for a hot chocolate plus naughty cakes as an extra treat.  I had a more than full-scale chunk of Rocky Road slice for the first time since I retired over a year ago.  I often used to stop by Starbucks on the way into work and get a piece, and didn't realise how much I'd missed it.  However, not eating such ruinous things during the past few months has meant I've lost nearly a stone so it's going to have to be a rare indulgence if I'm going to keep my weight down.

Pictured in my blipfoto is the gorgeous peach-coloured Begonia plant which Julia gave to Mum today.  It was lovely to see her, and now she doesn't work on Mondays she'll be able to join us again for future hot chocolate afternoons too :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.