To serve the fairy queen

Your outpouring of praise for Malcolm has overwhelmed both him and me. Thank you for every word, every star and heart, every commendation. He is a man of great humility and kindness, embarrassed by the attention. One of his friends on Facebook urged him to copy all the comments and save them for a bad day sometime in the future. I hope he has no bad days coming, but your comments will certainly warm his heart if he does.

I'm taking a break from the real world. I got a half-hour massage for my back on Friday and saw a free community chiropractor today who gave me some trigger-point massage and stretching exercises, and I am almost moving with ease again. Right after the chiropractor, I picked up a black sheet I ordered to use as a photographic backdrop, and then I collected Bella for Baba Day. We spent the day painting each other’s faces, playing at fairy magic, eating cheese and pickles, and making photographs. 

I read this bit of Midsummer Night’s Dream to her and asked her to interpret it for the camera:

Over hill, over dale,
Through bush, through brier,
Over park, over pale,
Through flood, through fire,
I do wander every where
Swifter than the moon’s sphere;
And I serve the fairy queen,
To dew her orbs upon the green:
The cowslips tall her pensioners be;
In their gold coats spots you see;
Those be rubies, fairy favours,
In those freckles live their savours:
I must go seek some dew-drops here,
And hang a pearl in a cowslip’s ear.
Farewell, thou lob of spirits: I’ll be gone:
Our queen and all her elves come here anon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.