It's the beans

I had the pleasure today of a photoshoot surrounded by sacks of raw coffee beans, in a large warehouse fragrant of roasting coffee, with a free cappuccino for lagniappe. A local coffee-roaster is offering unhoused women the opportunity to train to become baristas. The organization that screens and supports barista trainees wants to make a brochure about their work but has no money to pay a photographer, so I volunteered. I’ve cropped this shot to protect the women’s identities. The more I work with unhoused people, the more stories of transcendence and resilience I hear. Many unhoused women are refugees from abusive men and now depend on their own earnings to support themselves and their children, so the opportunity to train for a job makes all the difference in the world to them. In this program, trainees learn to order beans, process them, bag them, and make espresso drinks. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.