A bit brisk

The "event" is happening as I write this - and it's been happening for a couple of days now.  High gale force winds, hundreds and hundreds of trees down, accidents galore, and small hail.  And 50,000 homes without power.

We are escaping completely unscathed.  It's a bit breezy out there, but nothing we can't cope with - but I do feel sorry for those without power, because it's stone motherless cold.

Very sadly, a life was lost when a tree fell, and many cars and homes have been damaged.

I have it on good authority that it's snowing a few kilometres up the hill, but I am resisting the temptation to drive up and have a look.  I'm not that desperate.  Also - and very very unusually, there is black ice on  the roads, so it seems to me that home in front of a nice warm heater is the place to be.

This is the corner under my office window earlier today, the white stuff is hail. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.