Elvis and Son

I love these kookaburras - they are so trusting and friendly.

Elvis sat on the birdbath in the front garden and clucked softly to gain my attention - he can see me through the window.  So of course I grab the camera in one hand and the mince in the other,  obey the call and away we go.

I didn't expect to see Son of Elvis, and I certainly didn't expect to see Priscilla and Daughter (out of frame).  The girls are much shyer than the boys and won't come to be hand fed.  So I just toss the mince up to them. 

This is the first time that Son of Elvis has come so close, so he's learning from his Dad.  Even with this perspective you can see that Son is smaller than Dad. 

And you can see just how amazing the Hardenbergia is looking at the moment.

They will stick together as a family group for a bit longer yet.  If you have the time, have a look in large - it's worth it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.