Barneysloan

By Barneysloan

Treasures of the Earth

Today was a day of travelling.  We left Mull and headed to Aviemore for the second half of our trip.

On our way we stopped off at Treasures of the Earth, a gemstone museum in a village just outside Fort William.

It was a fascinating display of gemstones, fossils and minerals from around the world.

I had a hard time choosing which picture to be my main blip and then what others to add as my extras.

I opted for this impressive Quartz crystal as my main blip.  The largest of the crystals was about 3/4 metre in length to give you an idea of how big this was!! I really liked how the light travelled up the crystals.

My extras are:-
A close up on a lump of Selenite (Desert Rose) - the full piece was at least 1 1/2 metres tall :-)
A Sabre Toothed Tiger Skull
A slice of petrified wood
A quartz crystal fluorescing under UV light - there was a whole Gallery of different types of Gems fluorescing but they were very difficult to photograph, this is the best of the bunch!!

Highland Wildlife Park tomorrow so hopefully some pictures of polar bears and wolves!! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.