Suspension Bridge, Montrose

Today’s blip is of an earlier Montrose bridge. It is actually an etching by William Lamb of the suspension bridge that replaced the former wooden bridge in 1829.  This suspension bridge was replaced by a concrete cantilever bridge in 1930, which in turn was replaced by the present bridge in 2004  -  see yesterday’s blip. With such a history it makes me wonder when this bridge will be replaced! You will notice this blip is a view from the south which shows Montrose church in the distance. I was allowed to photograph the etching by Aileen who took me round the William Lamb Studio this afternoon and gave me an exciting account of some of the people who were his models for his sculptures. Naturally, I left a couple of my Blipfoto cards with herJ  The studio is now staffed by Angusalive Trust – this is a new endeavour by Angus County Council.   You can read about it at this LINK!  The William Lamb Studio is a must for visitors and for local people  -  it shines a light on the great cultural background of Montrose which is often overlooked. I'll be back there is no doubt. Have a nice evening, everyone:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.