Vectis Harrier, Davaar island, and the Lighthouse

15.4C and bright and sunny. Some cloud. Light NW/WNW then Westerly breeze.

After lunch Maeve the Deerhound and I went for a short walk.

Once Maeve was back home and settled I went for a walk. Simple Minds (Glittering Prize) and Deacon Blue (The Hipsters then The Singles) on the iPod Mini. I went out Low Askomill to the old shipyard and kept going out the North shore path past Baraskomel farm and right out to Macringan's point where I stood for a while and watched yachts and fishing boats go in and out of the channel leading from Kilbrannan sound into Campbeltown loch. The cargo ship Vectis Harrier was still anchored out beyond Davaar island. I could see all the way up the sound again, the view of the hills on Arran being particularly good. Looking South Ailsa Craig was clearer than I have seen it for a while.

The part of the path which becomes a bit of a scramble was much easier on my own. Maeve would have really struggled today if she could have made it at all. The bracken, gorse, and all the other sorts of vegetation were lush and the path quite overgrown. Areas that had been obviously muddy recently were badly broken and slipped and pitted. I kept my fleece jacket on even though I was hot during the scrambling part. Once past that part I was able to make my way along the shoreline where I had had to cut up into areas of bracken in the open grazing with sheep when I went with Maeve at the end of May. Thankfully it opens out at the last section and the point itself is short grass and rocks with spectacular views..

When I got home I washed my jacket along with my trousers just in case I had picked up any ticks on them when pushing through the bracken.

It was one of those odd days when Apothecary7 starts work at 7am and finishes at 3.30pm. She was home by four in time for tea and cake. No afternoon music today.

E-PL5 f/10 1/640 sec. ISO-200 53mm

Extras:
1. Ailsa Craig, and a yacht passing the lighthouse on Davaar island.
2. The lighthouse on Davaar island. Longer lens. Hand held. Not bad !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.