Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Solitary Wasp / Potter Wasp / Mason Wasp

Not one I've seen before

Possibly Ancistrocerus oviventris

Feeding on White Melilot (Melitotus alba)

Location: Upper beach. sandy and shelly. 
Vegetation mostly grasses, clover, vetches, trefoils, rest harrow, yarrow, centaury, meadow cranesbill, strawberry, etc.

Size: Slightly smaller than a common wasp (Vespula vulgaris).


I am struggling for a definitive ID on the species of this individual.

I have looked at examples of Ectemnius (but their heads are broader than the thorax.  Also didn't find one with the broad black abdominal band.)

I have looked at examples of Symmorphus. No matches for anything that was likely to be seen in Scotland.

I have looked at examples of Ancistrocerus

Best fit was Ancistrocerus oviventris (aka Ancistrocerus pictus) but the legs of my example are redder than the yellow abdominal bands.



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.