A busy day again, did a couple of loads of washing before going to my parents to do Mum's hair. Then the occupational therapist x 3 arrived with a contraption to see if it could help Dad get into bed unaided, sadly he did not have enough strength to slide his legs across.But they are going to arrange for a better electric riser chair that is a better size for him, and that he can just raise the footrest without the back going down. I think we persuaded him to agree to a stair lift too, which is a big step forward as he has resisted for a long time. Now I realise why there are black marks on the top of the banister, he uses his walking stick hooked through the airing cupboard door handle to pull himself to the top stair. I haven't seen him go up or down stairs for a while, sad to see how frail and difficult it is for him, I had a little weep on my own in the kitchen under the pretext of making tea. Once the O.T.'s had gone I got their lunch ready. Mum was tired and so her mood deteriorated during the afternoon. The manager of the care agency came out for a visit and we talked about making sure that all the carers follow the care plan, helping Dad wash and have clean clothes on every day etc. Mum went in the garden to pick up bits of moss out of the lawn, her latest thing to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.