Tower Bridge

Friday 15th July 2016 (1420)

After a lie in I went for a walk round Greenland dock and back up Stave Hill. I spent a lovely time wandering round Russia Dock woodland and taking nature photos. It was so peaceful, hard to imagine I was in central London. 

I followed the signs to the Thames path, except I forgot about the bend in the river so I ended up walking a lot further than expected. Finally found the underground and got off at London Bridge under the Shard. Had a wander around Borough market, then over the bridge to the Monument, down to the Tower of London and on to Tower Bridge.

I decided to go up the Bridge and across the two top walkways. They each have a glass floor installed so you can look down, and a mirror above so you can look up to look down - see extra. The tour also includes the engine room. 

I sat for a while along the bank of the river watching the world go by then walked the Thames path back to Rotherhithe to meet my niece for at drink at the Mayfower pub. We caught the train back to the flat and had a relaxing evening.  I've done a lot of walking today. Big day tomorrow!

Thought this photo worked best in mono. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.