Christography

By ChrisGroucutt

100 not out!

Had a cheeky little gig today playing a spot of piano for a 100th birthday party. One Hundred! A whole century and not out! It's quite the achievement, and I genuinely felt honoured to be asked to contribute to her celebratory bash.

We had a little sing song, with her quite extensive circle of friends (I guess you do pick up a few along the way at such a grand age), with a few classics like 'somewhere over the rainbow', 'If you were the only girl in the world' and of course a rousing chorus of 'happy birthday' for her.

While I was playing, I couldn't help but muse on the experiences of such a long life, and of all those guests in the room. Taking in a world war while she was in her prime of course, (and having been born in the first one), and of all the innovations and modern developments that she's seen through her years.

I also couldn't help but feel a moment of poignancy with respect to the awful events again in France yesterday. A thought of how so many people, including children, were denied the simple right to even have a chance to get to their own centenary. And for what reason? A sad and heartbreaking shame, and a conundrum to which I'm not sure there really is an answer.

But... in the absence of a good answer, I think tonight I shall raise a glass to good people everywhere, and to the good people of France and elsewhere who mourn their losses tonight, and to Dorothy, the dear old lass who got that famous telegram today (which is actually just a card nowadays... but still!)

Happy birthday Dorothy, hope I'm invited to the next one, the cake was excellent :)

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.