Generosity

Another grotty day today, but I've been out with begging bowl and cap in hand around local shops appealing for prizes for the tombola which we'll hold at our annual Scottish Wildlife Trust Summer Fair, or Fundraising Day, on August 6th. This year, for the second time, it will be held at Dunollie Castle, at the end of the esplanade in Oban - see this.

I've only been turned down by one shop so far, and had promises for gifts from four more if I call in next week. Some of the shop managers know me, other require SWT letters, which I have ready to hand out, and some happily give me valuable items on trust.

Here are a few of the items so far - Jasper Conan perfume, a camouflaged monocular, bag of cosmetic goodies by Clarins and Elizabeth Arden, a bird feeder and fat balls,  a bone china mug, a waterproof picnic rug, a £10 garden centre voucher, a large Maglite torch and a beautiful wooden bird table!

Oban really is a friendly and helpful place!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.