Three in a row

A mixed day today with enough sunshine to tempt me out to continue crating up my potted plants to make them easier to move around. One day we'll have somewhere to plant them out!

Later in the afternoon we were tempted further, but as soon as we got to McCaig's Tower the sun went in and the sky turned grey. I took the usual view of boats in the harbour, including the 'Isle of Mull', the 'Coruisk' and the wee 'Purple Heather', which takes folks out to the seal colony behind Kerrera. 

McCaig's was looking rather shabby, I'm afraid to say. Council cutbacks, I suppose, mean that the grass is rarely cut - not sure if it's been cut this year - the weeds are three feet high and it's getting harder to climb the steps for the overhanging shrubs. At least it all hides the rubbish, or most of it! I suppose that council cutbacks are also responsible for the failure to cut back (!) the trees, so the view is gradually disappearing, as it is at Pulpit Hill. OK, hear me out! I'm not averse to taking trees down to preserve a popular view - if the taller trees are coppiced every few years and allowed to regrow in between cuts then the green foreground remains - as long as they take away the prunings, which is becoming rarer, I'm afraid. Oban depends on tourists, so the town should treat them better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.