A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Matilda gets some TLC

My friend Mick popped over from Essex with his Rover P6 called Roger. It was the first time I'd seen it since he sold his Morris Traveller. Roger is a year younger than Matilda.

Matilda was having some overheating issues, not major but as I'm up to Yorkshire with her next month I thought we'd give her plumbing a bit of a service.

We needed to change her thermostat but the housing had welded itself to the engine. Digging into my spares I found a replacement which meant we could chisel off the old one. Once done Mick flushed through the pipes, engine block, radiator and heater with fresh water. Lots of crud came out. Then we filled her up with fresh coolant. The first thing I noticed was the heater now works!

A few engine running adjustments were done and a quick test showed she was running much better. Tomorrow I'll give her a longer run to check all is OK. 

Thanks Mick you're a diamond. ;o)

Tomorrow I will post a pre-Mono Monday example which is themed "COMMUNICATION" with the tag MM130. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.