in with the New

I was in a post office at lunchtime today sending my impractical Crumpler Dark Side and some superfluous RAM to better homes. There was the usual mix of post-office customers: a smattering of people Speaking. Patronisingly. Overly. Clearly. And, Slowly. And. Loudly. at the counter-staff, a couple of grannies doing whatever grannies do in post offices and someone in the queue in front of me trying to do something financial. Upon failure of the transaction she asked what the date was which was fair enough but then asked what the day was; it took the bloke at a counter an understandable second or two to incredulate before answering "Monday". I think that's the first time I've heard someone ask that as a genuine question rather than merely as the result of temporary befuddlement, sleepiness or jetlag.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.