Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hemaris thysbe ... in my garden

I was just saying to someone this week that I had yet to see a single clearwing moth in my garden this summer - usually by now there are at least a half dozen or so.  So, as I was sitting out on the patio today, enjoying watching the hummers and bees flit around the garden, I nearly missed this clearwing!  I actually took this shot with my 300 prime lens and then cropped the heck out of it.  Hey, you use what you have at hand, right?

These large diurnal moths are in the Sphinx (or hawk) moth family and are notable for their clear wings which you can see here.  Our area has two different species, this one and Hemaris diffinis (snowberry clearwing).  Both are great pollinators, always welcome in my garden.

Three other shots today, all contenders for my blip, posted starting HERE with a tricky chippie, and followed by a teenage katydid, and a hummer with a bug.

Hubs and I are planning a shopping expedition this afternoon - he desperately needs a new computer and now that we have finally extricated ourselves from the jaws of Lenovo (who we ordered a computer from over two months ago with nothing but delays and excuses from them until the courts apparently interceded), we are free to buy something.  

Thank you so very kindly for the comments, hearts and stars on yesterday's hummer in the glads.  Today, P-Hummie was perched at the very top of one of the gladiolas, but I just wasn't quick enough to get a shot before he zoomed off in pursuit of something.

Happy Saturday, people...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.