A Writer's Life

By Awriterslife

A bit confused

So, I started my new job, high on the grant news. It's a 4pm-midnight shift, and I figured i'd be a natural, seeing as I'm not really a morning person.

Let me just say: WRONG!

True, I had had a big, full day, with the interview in the morning, great news in the middle, and then this new work. Also true, they gave me a child program to start with, waybuloo, you may know it if you have babies. Apparently, it's easier to learn how to do the subtitles with that kind of show. But I have to say, I thought compared to this, the teletubies must have been a masterpiece. So I fumbled my way around, and when I finally finished work (well my shift ended, I wasn't done with my 20-minute episode), I was so tired I just wanted to cry.

So this is me, the only thing I wanted and could do all day. No brain power, and the distinct desire to quit. But I didn't. See how I'm a good girl? I'll work a few months, figure out a way to have a life in the meantime, and start writing the novel. Once I'm done with my summer deadlines.

(ps: tonight went a lot better. I'm done with Waybuloo. I'm writing this sitting on the back balcony, listening to the wind, as I unwind after work. Ok, it's almost 1am, but what is a girl supposed to do when she finishes her work at midnight?)

Thank you so much for your encouragements and enthusiasm for the past few weeks and yesterday's big news! It's really nice to be able to share all that chaos!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.