Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A quiet day

You will be pleased to hear that today was quiet and gentle in comparison to the rest of the week.

I stayed in bed to listen to the news - yet more terrible things to absorb.

The morning was easy with the usual chores plus some much needed pruning in the garden. A non-variegated form of weigela has grown vigorously to try to push out the variegated, more sensitive type. Both needed cutting back.

Then a glorious golden euonymous has outgrown its space. I donned heavy gloves because of the prickly leaves.

It took years to establish a flowering currant, which is now enormous!

Mum and I did a crossword over lunch and then I watched some of the men's doubles in the Davis cup. I fell asleep.

Later I did more pruning and cooked a meal. We shared it with Margret next door.  She has a presentation to give to the Mothers' Union in September and needed help to put the pictures into Powerpoint. We did that too.

Time to sit back for a bit of Scandi dectective work now.

Oh yes, the image is of the seed heads on the ground elder I blipped a while ago. I should have cut it down before it went to seed of course. Sigh...........

I rather like it in mono, emphasising the patterns of the seed heads. I way playing with an extension tube because I've seen so many great closeups recently on Blip. I want to do it properly, so that will have to wait for another day, a tripod and less wind!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.