Opportunity....

For 19 years my job had been relatively easy so I had no reason to leave my comfort zone, expand my credentials and open new horizons. Then a corporation took over... and for about a year I fought just about everything. My boss once to me the reason I wasn't let go is because I followed the law, took care of the customer, took care of the equipment and they needed drivers desperately. Unfortunately I took advantage of that...

Then one day I got tired, thought about leaving, knowing I didn't want to start over, knowing I wasn't getting any younger, knowing...  I decided to try an work WITH the system.. The first was upgrading my license but because I burned so many bridges I wasn't given many chances to show that I was sorry and I wanted to figure out it if was possible to get things to work for both of us..

I was supposed to pick up 56 pallets of bathroom tissue today but halfway there I got a message saying things changed. Another driver had truck issues and that I was to go pick up a 2015 refer, run it at 50-55 and go pick up 42,000 pounds of chocolate and it had to be in Boise by midnight. 

In this moment my boss trusted me to know not only what he meant but because of 16 years of refer experience I would get the job done too. It took me 15 minutes to figure out how to open the door to check the oil level. There was no on/off switch. Another 15 minutes figuring out how to run a modern refer with no manual, no help, just logic and experience. The load was delivered at 20:45 at proper temperature. 

As for photographing three birds with one photo click.. As I came off the freeway to get fuel, I really wanted to stop and get a good photo but being on deadline, I knew that wasn't an option. Fortunately the the light was red so I seized the opportunity and took this photo..

Going to sleep in and see what tomorrow brings..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.